Skip to main content

You are here

Park Rapids Area

In 2000 a group of 15 women gathered to discuss interest in forming a League of Women Voters in Park Rapids.  Two of the women, Jean Grimes and Esther Fieldman, had been League members in our community years before. From this group several went on to seek and win a public office: i.e. Nancy Carroll (mayor), Brita Sailer (representative), Florence Hedeen (school board)  and Nancy Tague (city council)

Then in 2001, 25 people responded to an invitation to meet with LWV Minnesota out-reach personnel, to make plans for becoming a League. Park Rapids was organized as a State Unit with its members at-large members of LWVMN.  The State Unit held candidate forums every election year and educational forums on several topics such as water quality, land use planning, proposal for new jail, health care, Father Hood project, Habitat for Humanity, voting systems, pipeline proposals and current water usage in the area.  The State Unit also ran voter registration drives, helped with the Governor's Fishing Opener Activities and held an Agricultural event with Native American Farmers.  

In May of 2015, LWV Park Rapids State Unit became LWV Park Rapids Area LLC. As a local league we pledge to continue our work to support local projects, provide voting and campaign information and provide educational forums of local relevance.  We also hope to do some local studies to support our local actions. We also partner with a local independent bookstore: Beagle and Wolf Books to run a Current Events Book Club that meets once a month. 

Officers and Board of Directors

  • President - Carolynne White
  • Secretary - Annamae Holzworth  
  • Treasurer - Sue Cutler
  • Voter Service - LuAnn Hurd-Lof
  • Program/Events - Florence Hedeen


    • Lake Emma Township
    • Park Rapids
    • Nevis
    • Akeley
    • Laporte (Guthrie)
    • Osage (Ponsford)
    • Menahga


Event Calendar